Heatbud logo
Travel Visit zone home page
Open Zone
< Previous Post
> Next Post
Create a Post
Create a Zone
Login to favorite zones.
  • Business
  • Market ResearchNest
  • MarketResearch
  • Trendy Women Tops That Will Help You To Improve
  • Singing Bowls
  • Car Accessories
  • eMarketOrg.com
  • Politics
  • AlgoroReports
  • My Zone
  • Chemical
  • Market Research Report
  • Research Trades Business Report
  • College
  • Health
  • Global QYResearch
  • Physical Activities
  • Beauty & Fashion
  • 24 Market Reports
  • Industry Research Forcast
Join the Social Blogging revolution!
Do You Know the Seven Sister States of India?
Share Blog Post by URL Like Heatbud on Facebook
UNIQUE VIEWS   +   UP VOTES Vote Up   -   DOWN VOTES Vote Down   +   COMMENTS Comments   =   HEAT INDEX What is Heat Index?

India is a beautiful country that is known all around the world for its vibrant and diverse culture all around the world. Since it is the 7th largest country in the world, it has been divided into various geographical locations. One of such regions of this country is the Northeast. The Northeast India is basically the easternmost region of the country. The Northeast is also known as the “Paradise Unexplored”. The region is full of natural beauty and is home to some of the ancient tribes of India such as the Khasi, Naga, Garo, Nyishi, and many others. And in this region, there is an alliance of seven states that are together known as the Seven Sister States of India. Now you must be wondering which these Seven Sister States are. Let’s go deeper into the rich heritage of these Seven Sisters!

Which are the Seven Sisters States and why are they so called?

The Seven Sister States, also called the Seven Sisters are actually the seven adjoining states of the Northeast region of India. These states are Meghalaya, Assam, Manipur, Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, and Tripura. Together these states comprise of 3.7 percent of India’s total population. The area covered by these states is around 255,511 square kilometers.

These states are all rich in natural beauty and are the home to some of the oldest and largest tribal groups of India. You can see a great religious and ethnic diversity in these states. No wonder there are significant diversity among these states, the title is so given to these states they exhibit many similarities in their social, economic, and political realms.

Abundance of Flora and Fauna and Natural Beauty

These states are rich in flora and fauna. They are also abundant in natural resources such as crude oil and natural gas. The state of Meghalaya is the home to the living root bridges, the cleanest village in Asia- Mawlynnong, and is home to the wettest place on Earth- Cherrapunji. Its capital Shillong is known as the “Scotland of the East” which is a popular hill station of India. Some of the distinct species of mammal, birds, and plant species such as elephants, red pandas, civets, and many others. Other state of this alliance- Assam is the home to the two UNESCO World Heritage Sites. These are the Kaziranga National Park, and Manas Wildlife Sanctuary.  Manipur is the home to the only floating lake of the world- Loktak Lake. Other states are also rich in flora and fauna, and biodiversity.

The Rich Culture of the Seven Sisters

Just like the intense biodiversity, the seven sister states are rich in culture. The state of Meghalaya is the home to one of the largest matrilineal societies of the world. The major tribes of this state are the Khasi, Garo, and Jaintia. The other states of the seven sisters like Nagaland, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura, and Assam are the Naga, Nishi, Bodos, Bhutia, Apatani, and many others. The major religions are Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, and many others.

These states are really a gem and worth visiting. If you want to know some more about the beautiful North Eastern states, visit Weetjij.

1 blogger(s) are following this post, but not you. Follow?
No comments yet.
Post a Comment:

Related Posts: